Things I Love: July 2016

IMG_1499

I’ve always been interested in the things people buy and reach for when they want to feel their ultimate best. It’s uncovering insights about someone that makes them uniquely their own. For anyone curious, here are a couple of items I’ve been loving recently.

The greatest thing someone can share with me is knowledge. I seek ways to improve myself because I understand I have flaws and I am willing to work on them. With that said, someone recommended I read Nathaniel Branden’s “Six Pillars of Self Esteem” because it has a great foundation in explaining how one can improve their overall self esteem. And as we know, having healthy self esteem is essential for everyone in not only feeling their best, but performing their best. Self esteem trickles into the respectful and meaningful relationships we build with people on a day to day basis. Nathaniel Branden’s “Six Pillars of Self Esteem” goes beyond the typical self help books. It actually has actionable exercises one can take to moving forward in becoming your best self. The book goes in depth into different parts of self esteem. Here are a couple of key points in easy digestible text I pulled from each topic:

The Focus on Action – “We must become what we wish to teach”

The Practice of Living Consciously – “A mind that is active rather than passive”

The Practice of Self-Acceptance – “When we fight a block it grows stronger. When we acknowledge, experience, and accept it, it begins to melt”

The Practice of Self-Responsibility – “Taking responsibility for my happiness is empowering. It places my life back in my own hands”

The Practice of Self-Assertiveness – “Self-assertiveness means the willingness to stand up for myself, to be who I am openly, to treat myself with respect in all human encounters”

The Practice of Living Purposefully – “The root of our self-esteem is not our achievements but those internally generated practices that, among other things, make it possible for us to achieve”

The Practice of Personal Integrity – “The challenge for people today, and it is not an easy one, is to maintain high personal standards while feeling that one is living in a moral sewer”

The Philosophy of Self Esteem – “No other individual or group has the power to determine how I will think and feel about myself”

Solid, honest and uplifting words to help us build a healthier self esteem.

hanaemoributterfly_banner_aug2014_1002866

The next thing I’ve been loving is Hanae Mori’s Butterfly perfume. I tend to gravitate towards soft scents and when I smelled this, I was instantly hooked. To add on, Hanae Mori is a fashion designer in Japan who became the first Asian woman to be admitted as an official haute couture design house in France. That’s pretty bad ass, so I was sold. Taken directly from Sephora’s website the scent is described as, “The fragrance is a rare blend of berries and flowers with a distinctive tone of strawberries and almond, and a lingering impression of vanilla. The subtle composition of scents make it a fragrance unlike any other.” The bottle is also very unique and beautiful. The top (which I accidently broke when I dropped the bottle) has a shape of a butterfly with folded wings. I’ve also gotten many compliments on the perfume, so that’s a definite plus.

It’s summer in NYC and I’ve been on the hunt for a good mattifying face cream for my oily skin. I was lucky to find Botanic’s Mattifying Gel-Cream Shine Away at a Duane Reade. It’s a unique jelly like consistency that has a subtle herby fragrance to it. It moisturizes my skin without feeling greasy, and it’s great under sunscreen. As an added bonus, it hasn’t given me any breakouts, so I’m a happy lady.

It’s no secret that I love watching travel videos and vloggers, in particular J-vloggers. These are video vloggers in Japan. I was watching Kim Dao’s video and her friend Laura was handing out these beautiful choker necklaces to her friends. You can find them here: https://www.bambiluna.com/collections/all. I bought the Maru Choker and I love the simplicity and edginess it adds to any outfit I wear.

opening-ceremony-vans-vault-og-slip-on-lx-qi-pao-0

I have also been loving the floral trend that’s been mixing with masculine pieces like floral bombers and these Vans x Opening Ceremony collab sneakers. I love Vans because they are so comfortable, especially their slip ons because it is so easy to put on. When I found out Opening Ceremony was continuing their Year of China line with Vans, I was intrigued. The beautiful delicate satin flower details with the intersection of the tough and tomboy feel of Vans instantly caught my attention. I was lucky enough to snag a black pair in the Opening Ceremony NYC shop and I’m looking forward to wearing them with many outfits.

So that’s a wrap with a couple of items I have been loving recently. And as a reminder, items should not define your whole self worth or happiness, but it’s fun to complement our self expression.

I’m interested in knowing what items or non items have been making you feel best in the comments below.

 

Leave a Reply

